News / Blog

Wisconsin Holstein Association Awards Scholarships
June 2, 2016
Baraboo, Wis. – The Wisconsin Holstein Association is proud to announce 20 youth receiving a total of $16,000 in scholarships for 2016.

Scholarships were awarded to members studying in agriculture or related fields at a two-year or four-year university. These outstanding members will receive their scholarships at the 2017 Wisconsin Junior Holstein Convention, to take place in Wisconsin Dells, Wis., in January.

Receiving the $1,000 Doris Morris Memorial Scholarship is Carley Krull of Lake Mills, Wis. This scholarship is in honor of Doris, who was a long-time Wisconsin Holstein member. Doris and her husband Arden, along with Arden’s brother, Maldwyn, and his wife, Inez, owned and operated Arwyn Farms in Waukesha County for over 40 years. Carly is the 18-year-old daughter of Cindy Krull-Begeman and the late Brian Krull. She is a senior at Lake Mills High School and plans to attend Iowa State University to study animal science. Upon graduation she hopes to pursue a career with dairy cattle reproduction or a career as an agriculture education teacher and or FFA advisor. Krull also plans to stay active on her family farm.
Austin Nauman of Norwalk, Wis., will receive the $1,000 Gordon Berg Memorial Scholarship. Gordon was a long-time Wisconsin Holstein member and breeder from Brownsville, Wis. This scholarship is given to a student enrolled in a technical college, two-year, or short course agriculture program. Austin is the 18-year-old son of Danielle Nauman and Scott Stanford. He is a senior in high school at Sparta High School and plans to attend the University of Wisconsin-Madison Farm and Industry Short Course this fall. Nauman’s goals after graduation include becoming a fitter and further developing his herd, Smokin’ Hot Genetics.
Erica Helmer of Plymouth, Wis., will receive the $1,000 Bradley Fust Memorial Scholarship. This scholarship is given in memory of Brad, who was an enthusiastic member of the Junior Holstein Association from Wausau, Wis. Helmer is the 17-year-old daughter of John and Lynn Helmer. She is a senior at Plymouth Comprehensive High School and plans to attend the University of Wisconsin – River Falls to study dairy science and agribusiness, with plans to pursue a career in the field of dairy genetics. Erica also plans to return to the home farm in order to implement new ideas and techniques.
Receiving the $1,000 John Selz Memorial Scholarship is Kennedy Stumpf of Dodgeville, Wis. This scholarship fund was established in honor of John Selz of Humbird, Wis, who was an active Wisconsin and National Holstein Association member in various capacities for numerous years. Kennedy is the 18-year-old daughter of Greg and Chris Stumpf. She is a senior at Dodgeville High School and plans to attend the University of Wisconsin-Madison to study agriculture and applied economics. Stumpf plans to continue her education by attending law school to later become an agricultural lawyer.
Bethany Marcks of Black Creek, Wis., will receive the $1,000 John Klossner Memorial Scholarship. This scholarship honors John, who was an active member of the Green County Junior Holstein Association and the Wisconsin Holstein Junior Activities Committee. This scholarship was established by John’s parents, Richard and Roxanne Klossner, and is given to a student furthering their education at a four-year university. Marcks is the 20-year-old daughter of David and Julie Marcks and is a Sophomore at the University of Wisconsin-River Falls majoring in dairy science/pre-veterinary medicine, with plans to further her education at the UW-School of Veterinary Medicine.
Receiving the $1000 Marlowe Nelson Memorial Scholarship is Jordon Dittrich of Alma, Wis. The scholarship is given in in honor of Marlowe whose passion was to teach and mentor young enthusiastic breeders to become more involved in the Registered Holstein business. Throughout his lifetime, Marlowe paved the way in many aspects of the Registered Holstein breed and its impact on the United States, Japan, Germany, and Holland dairy industries. Jordon is the 17-year-old son of Don and Billie Dittrich. He is a senior at Cochrane Fountain City High School and plans to attend Southeast Technical College in Winona, Minn. to study welding and get an agriculture CDL. Jordon wants to use the skills he learns to do his own farm repairs.
Ten additional well-deserving Wisconsin Holstein Junior members will receive four-year or two-year scholarships. Recipients include Maria Balbach of Gratiot; Rachel Coyne of Spring Valley; Zach Endres of Waunakee; Allissa Frisle of Prairie Farm; Carmen Haack of Algoma; Bryce Krull of Lake Mills; Emma Olstad of Stoughton; David Pintens of Dallas; Evan Schindler of Curtiss; and Brooke Trustem of Evansville.
The National Distinguished Junior Member representatives will be announced at the 2017 Junior Holstein Convention banquet in January, where they will receive a scholastic achievement scholarship for 2016 as well.
Wisconsin Holstein would like to congratulate all of these outstanding members as they have a bright future in front of them. We invite all Wisconsin Holstein members planning to attend a two or four-year college to apply for a scholarship in 2017 as youth can be awarded up to $1,000 in scholarship funds.
About The Organizations
Wisconsin Holstein Association is a not-for-profit membership organization with the purpose of promoting the Wisconsin Registered Holstein breed, its breeders and owners. Established in 1890, it has grown its junior and adult membership to become the second largest state Holstein association in the nation. For more information, visit the WHA website


Summer 2018